Coastal Plain League All-Star Game Home Run Derby Participants Announced

Updated July 07 2015

The Coastal Plain League announced the 2015 CPL All-Star Game Home Run Derby participants today set for July 12 in Florence, S.C.

The derby will consist of four hitters on each of the East and West CPL All-Star teams and will have three rounds of competition.

Representing the East squad are CPL home run leaders Chad Sedio of Edenton and Morehead City’s Stephen Wallace with ten each, followed by Collin Woody of Holly Springs with six and GK Young of Petersburg with five. For the East, J.D. Crowe of Lexington County starts off the list with five home runs with Hank Morrison of Martinsville coming in with four. Rounding out the West contestants will be Asheboro’s Ryan Mincher with four and Ben Holland of the host team Florence RedWolves with two.

Please see below for a complete list of the rules and participants:

2015 All-Star Home Run Derby Rules:

- Four (4) East All-Star participants & four (4) West All-Star participants
- Three (3) Rounds:
o First Round – 8 outs
o Second Round – 8 outs
o Championship Round – 10 outs
- Either a Home Run or it’s an Out
- May use aluminum bat for up to two (2) outs per round
-    HR with wood bat = 3 pts.
-    HR with aluminum bat = 1 pt.
- Points from Round 1 roll over to Round 2
- Championship Round – both hitters start over at zero (0)


Round 1: Four (4) hitters from East and four (4) hitters from West
- Top two (2) hitters from East and top two (2) hitters from West advance
        -Top hitters determined by total points

Round 2: Two (2) hitters from East and two (2) hitters from West
- Top hitter from East and top hitter from West advance
        -Top hitters determined by total points

Championship Round: Top East hitter vs. Top West hitter
-Hitters start from zero with hitter who has the highest number of points from home runs hit being crowned the 2015 CPL All-Star Home Run Derby Champion

East All-Star Participants:
1) Chad Sedio (Miami Ohio / Edenton)
2) Stephen Wallace (Mount Olive / Morehead City)
3) Collin Woody (UNC Greensboro / Holly Springs)
4) GK Young (Coastal Carolina / Petersburg)

West All-Star Participants:
1) J.D. Crowe (Francis Marion / Lexington County)
2) Hank Morrison (Mercyhurst / Martinsville)
3) Ryan Mincher (Pennsylvania / Asheboro)
4) Ben Holland (Lee / Florence)

About the Coastal Plain League:
The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s hottest summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 19th season in 2015, the CPL features 15 teams playing in North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. Players are housed with local host families for the summer and past experiences have been very positive for both players and hosts. Furthermore, the CPL has had over 1,200 alumni drafted and 79 alums – including former AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut thus far; while another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at, and be sure to friend us on Facebook (at and follow us via Twitter (as CPLBaseball).


Shelby Hilliard