Updated July 17 2012

2012 CPL All-Star Home Run Derby Participants Named


The Coastal Plain League announced the 2012 CPL All-Star Game Home Run Derby participants today.

The derby will consist of six hitters on each of the American and National CPL All-Star teams and three rounds of competition.

Representing the American CPL All-Stars in the derby will be Alex Close (three home runs thus far), Ian Harvey (five homers), Sal Giardina (four homers), Aaron Preston (three homers), Sal Annunziata (six homers) and Nathan Chong (four homers). For the National CPL All-Stars, will be Jason Kanzler (seven home runs), Greg Harrison (four homers), Spencer Branigan (seven homers), Hunter Ridge (four homers), Michael Camporeale (seven homers) and Kyle Brandenburg (four homers).

Please see below for a complete list of the rules and participants:

2012 CPL All-Star Home Run Derby Rules

- Three Rounds, Eight (8) outs per round (round 1&2) / Ten (10) outs (round 3)
- Six (6) Hitters per All-Star Team
- Either a Home Run or it’s an Out
- Can use aluminum bats for up to two (2) outs per round
- Home runs with wood = 3 points
- Home runs with aluminum = 1 point
- Points from every round rollover to the next round.

Round 1: Six (6) hitters from the National and Six (6) from the American
- Top two (2) hitters from both clubs advance to next round

Round 2: Two (2) hitters from the National and Two (2) from the American
- Top two (2) hitters (combined points from round 1 and 2), regardless of All-Star team, advance to final round

Round 3: Top two hitters in derby thus far
- Hitter with most total points after round three (points from rounds 1-3 combined) is crowned Champion

American All-Star Participants:
1) Alex Close (Liberty / Forest City Owls)
2) Ian Harvey (Lander / Martinsville Mustangs)
3) Sal Giardina (Lynn / Fayetteville SwampDogs)
4) Aaron Preston (Presbyterian / Wilmington Sharks)
5) Sal Annunziata (Seton Hall / Morehead City Marlins)
6) Nathan Chong (Presbyterian / Forest City Owls)

National All-Star Participants:
1) Jason Kanzler (Buffalo / Edenton Steamers)
2) Greg Harrison (Furman / Thomasville HiToms)
3) Spencer Branigan (Pennsylvania / Edenton Steamers)
4) Hunter Ridge (UNC Wilmington / Asheboro Copperheads)
5) Michael Camporeale (Washington / Edenton Steamers)
6) Kyle Brandenburg (High Point / Thomasville HiToms)

The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s hottest summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 16th season in 2012, the CPL features 14 teams playing in North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL gives college players the chance to refine their skills with the use of wooden bats. Players are housed with local host families for the summer and past experiences have been very positive for both players and hosts. Furthermore, the CPL has had over 1,000 alumni drafted and 53 alums – including 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut thus far. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at www.coastalplain.com, and be sure to friend us on Facebook (at www.facebook.com/coastalplainleague) and follow us via Twitter (as cpleague).


Justin Sellers


(919) 852-1960